Top 5 Political Parties Active in Delhi State


Delhi is India’s capital area, and it has its own distinct political scene. Delhi politics revolve largely around the Delhi Legislative Assembly, which is in charge of managing the National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT).

There are major 4 active political parties in Delhi and they participate in all the major elections in Delhi, including MCD elections.

Delhi is a distinct union territory with its own democratically elected administration. It has a Lieutenant Governor (LG) who represents the central government and serves as the NCT’s constitutional leader. The elected Chief Minister and the Legislative Assembly, on the other hand, have limited decision-making capabilities in regions under their control, and after the Delhi Services bill, the central govt has now more power and they can transfer and fire Delhi govt employees.

Top Political Parties in Delhi

AAP (Aam Aadmi Party)

Arvind Kejriwal and his allies established the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in November 2012. The party arose from the India Against Corruption movement, which was primarily concerned with opposing government corruption in India.

AAP aam aadmi party Dilliviews

The ideology of the AAP is around openness, anti-corruption measures, and good governance for the benefit of the general public.

The AAP won a historic victory in the 2015 Delhi Assembly elections, gaining 67 of 70 seats and securing an overwhelming majority. Arvind Kejriwal was elected as Delhi’s Chief Minister. Many Delhi voters supported the party’s anti-corruption efforts, Education, pro-people policies, and welfare programs.

BJP (Bhartiya Janta Party)

The BJP is one of India’s major national parties, with a substantial representation in Delhi. The party has a strong cadre structure and a sizable voter base throughout the city.

BJP in Delhi dilliviews

The BJP has long been a major challenger in Delhi’s legislative assembly elections. It has won multiple seats in the Delhi Legislative Assembly and has been the Aam Aadmi Party’s (AAP) main adversary in previous elections.

The BJP was also victorious in the Delhi municipal corporation elections. The city is split into several municipal corporations, and the BJP has previously gained control of parts of these corporations.

INC (Indian National Congress)

The Congress Party is one of India’s oldest and most powerful political parties. It was the dominating party in the early years following independence and played a vital role in the country’s independence movement.

Congress in delhi dilli views

The Congress Party’s performance in Delhi has deteriorated in recent years. Congress suffered a major setback in the 2013 Delhi Assembly elections, winning only eight of 70 seats. It suffered an even worse blow in the 2015 elections, failing to gain any seats.

BSP (Bahujan Samaj Party)

The BSP is a notable political party located mostly in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. Kanshi Ram started it in 1984 with the goal of empowering marginalized populations, notably Dalits, Scheduled Castes (SC), Scheduled Tribes (ST), and Other Backward Classes (OBC).

BSP in delhi

The BSP has run in various elections in Delhi, including those for the Delhi Legislative Assembly and the Lok Sabha (India’s lower house of parliament). However, in comparison to other prominent parties such as the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and the Indian National Congress (INC), its presence has been comparatively limited.

There are some other political parties also active in Delhi, but their role in Delhi politics is Limited, but there are plenty of Independent candidates, they play crucial role in Delhi Politics.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here